h1

The Black Drop-Bellingham

May 1, 2010

The first thing that I noticed upon walking into The Black Drop was the large jars of coffee sitting on a table near the door. The aroma overpowered me and much like a kid at Christmas I was gitty with excitement. The choices where a bit daunting, but once I saw the 8oz offerings off the different blends I was on cloud nine. There was no way to choose just one. After asking one of the baristas if they had an 8oz bag of the Bellinghamster Blend (who wouldn’t want it?) she measured it out of the full pound bag for us and waited for us to order. Talk about customer service.

This week I was leaning more towards a chi latte and R went with his usual black cup. I looked at the pastries. Although the selection was small their was a large cinnamon bun that was calling, but R wasn’t in the mood and it was much to large for me alone. While R was ordering I overheard

a conversation between one of the baristas and a customer about the different blends, which are roasted by the owners. She was extremely knowledgeable about the roasts and seemed to have a genuine enthusiasm for coffee. Always a huge plus in my book.

We sat down and waited for our drinks. The Black Spot is very laid back. While there a few people came and went but there wasn’t the usual loud hustle and bustle of many other coffee shops. It was very calm; something I could use more of in my life. R wondered around and found the periodic table of coffee. These are the quirky touches that I love to find.

Finally our drinks were done. R seemed to enjoy his coffee. My chi latte packed the punch that I love. It was flavorful, but a bit too sweet for my taste. Even so I would go back for more.

Black Drop on Urbanspoon

2 comments

  1. Is this in Seattle? Sounds like it’s worth a visit!


    • Sorry for the late reply. It is in Bellingham. I added it to the title so I don’t confuse anyone else. If you are ever in the area stop by. It is a really great cafe that was highly recommended to me by locals.



Leave a Reply

