h1

Molly Moon and Vivace Coffee Ice Cream

April 21, 2010

When there is a line at any restaurant, cafe, or any place serving food you know that they are serving something not to be missed. The line coming out the door of Molly Moon was epic, but from what the people in line were telling us about the ice cream there was no way we were leaving.
Inside there were two small tables (so don’t expect to find a seat here) and a bench outside with a very large dog bowl nearby. While standing in line we could watch one of the employees make fresh waffle cones, but no matter how tempting it was to watch I was drawn to the menu. They offered vanilla bean, Theo chocolate, strawberry, and maple walnut. Pretty standard but than there was starburst, “scout” mint, salted carmel, balsamic strawberry, honey lavender, Theo coconut kiss, cardamom, ginger, Mandarin chocolate sorbet, and raspberry mint sorbet. What caught my eye was the Vivace coffee. How could I pass this by, but there were so many others to choose from. My salvation came in the form of a prepackaged pint of Vivace coffee that R and I could savor later while I got the seasonal offering of rosemary Meyer lemon. What a wonderful choice. One of the great things about this place is their commitment to purchasing ingredients locally.
Both of the flavors I had were amazing. Really I don’t think there are words to express how perfect their ice cream is, but I will try. It was light, creamy, and so perfectly balanced that it achieved Nirvana. The flavors were light so they were not overwhelming. Usually I like strong, bold flavors, but the lightness of the flavor was something I could appreciate. The Vivace coffee was the best I have had. In the past I find most coffee ice creams to come off a bit harsher but again the lightness here was perfect. It was almost like a cup of coffee with cream. The other thing was that there was finely ground up pieces of coffee in the ice cream. This was a nice contrast that gave a nice punch to the flavor.
Move over Ben and Jerry.

Molly Moon's Homemade Ice Cream on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

