h1

Local Color

May 10, 2010

One night R called me excited about an art showing that was going on at a cafe downtown. A year later and a Flat Stanley project brought us to Pike Place Market and Local Color. Walking in I knew they were weren’t joking when they advertised that they were into the local art scene. Every inch of the wall was covered in paintings and photos. Tables were set up with prints and tiles. Masks covered a post and in a case was jewelry.  Near the tables in the front was a giant beach umbrella and other interesting displays are set up to catch your eye where art isn’t. Local Color is vibrant, colorful, whimsical, and full of life.

There is an area set up in the back where bands can play as well as a working studio. Art on exhibit is rotated monthly. A art opening held each time the art is rotated.

Honestly Pike Place Market with a baby is the very last place I want to be on a Saturday, but as I said before I was working on a Flat Stanley project for a kindergartner who I would not disappoint and just went. Although the area was busy and packed with tourists Local Color was not. Instead there was plenty of seating an a few locals sitting around. Maybe it is that Starbucks is right around the corner. Who knows why this place wasn’t packed, but it sure wasn’t due to coffee. First, the coffee they serve is Cafe Vita. Second, the service was pretty good and the drinks came with a smile. Finally, the pastry selection was very nice.

The drink I settled on was an Aztec Mocha. Wow, I have never had a drink knock me on my ass before until now. This mocha was no joke. The first sip was a bit bitter, but once my taste buds adjusted I was in heaven. Unlike many spicy things I’ve had before where the spice just over powers and muddles the taste this mocha was different. Each sip there was a hint of mocha and than punch of spice. The last sip was the killer with some of the mocha and spice settling on the bottom I almost went into cardiac arrest. Yes, this was a good thing. A very good thing. It really took me a little while to appreciate this drink, but once I did I was hooked. Amazing. A++ Just thinking about it makes the coffee I’m drinking now a bit lackluster.

Local Color on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

