h1

Trabant Coffee and Chai

March 6, 2010

Trabant Coffee and Chai is a breath of fresh air. Truly I have been getting tired of the whole stereotypical coffee house with the wood floors and crap art on the wall. Yes, there is art here, but the the blue walls and the mural of what I interpreted as an astronauts face added a funky twist. Add to that a loft area with additional seating, Candyland sitting on a shelf under the stairs, and skull lights hanging in the window and I knew that I was in for something a bit different.

One of the first things that I noticed was a sign above the counter proclaiming their dedication to coffee, how they pay twice above fair trade value for their beans, and the intense process of training their baristas go through before serving.

Their pastry offerings is less than impressive. It was limited to some croissants, a cookie or two, and vegan muffins. I went with the heart cookie and wasn’t impressed. Way to sweet for my liking. As for the drinks R ordered a cup of Ethiopian coffee while I went for the raspberry chai.

The coffee is brewed in a Clovker, which is used to brew high-quality coffee with a method similar to a French press. Stealing a sip of his coffee I was blown away by the flavors and the smoothness of it. This wasn’t a strong, hard, get me up in the morning brew. It was like a fine wine; something to be savored and enjoyed.

My chai was delicious. My fear about ordering the was the shot of flavor added it, but my fears were soon gone. There was a distinct chai taste with a hint of raspberry. My only complaint was that it was a bit sweet for my taste, but outstanding none the less.

This is a place I will most defiantly see again, since I am extremely curious about there other roasts.


Trabant Coffee & Chai - U District on Urbanspoon

2 comments

  1. Do you know what kind of chai they serve at Trebant? It seems like it might be by this company called Big Train Chai, but for some reason I had the impression that they made it themselves. Any idea?


    • Sorry, but I not sure.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

