h1

Zeitgeist

February 22, 2010

Zeitgeist is another one of those cafes that is on every “must-visit-list” for Seattle. Situated in Pioneer Square, only a block from Qwest Field and minutes from the train station, it is situated in one of my favorite parts of Seattle.

Inside it is a typical coffee shop. The walls are covered in art from the current featured artist. The ceilings are a trendy warehouse style with the revealed pipes, exposed brick, and wood flooring. However Janis Joplin was playing, so I knew this place had a lot of potential.

The first thing that struck me about this place was the size. Compared to most cafes it was huge with lots of seating. Even though there was a steady flow of people the entire time we were there seating wasn’t hard to find. That alone was worth the visit. R pulled out his computer to work, but no outlets. It took a few minutes and help from a patron, but we found that the outlets were along the wall under the benches that were lining the window to the street. Tricky.

I ordered my usual carmel latte and R got his coffee. Once disappointment was the pastry selection. There seemed to be more sandwich type items and only one type of scone and some doughnuts. This is not acceptable in my world. I pointed to a plain glazed doughnut and took a seat. A few moments later R came over with our order. He got a ham sandwich which he said he loved and I bit into my doughnut. Wow! It was moist and sweet, but not overly sugary. I could use more of these in my life. My latte was great as well, but a bit to sweet for my liking.

Overall, this is a must try place. Especially if you plan on doing a little exploring of the area afterward.

Zeitgeist Coffee on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

