h1

Cafe Solstice

January 16, 2010

So, um, where is it? We parked, paid for a ticket, and were off with car seat in hand. “R, where is this place?”

“It’s here.” As he pulls out Android phone.

“Where? I found Starbucks….”

With a grin on his face he tells me to follow him (famous last words anyone?). A few minutes later we were standing in front of Cafe Solstice. We were on the the wrong street before. Outside was a nice sized patio that I would have loved to have tired out since the street was pretty quiet with few passerby, but with a little baby it wasn’t in the cards.

Inside I was taken by the pastries. Oh, so many to choose from, but what to pick. I settled on a lemon scone and a carmel latte; grabbed the baby and took a seat. One thing that threw us off was that there was no menu and the barista really didn’t seem interested in helping much.

The tables were large and made of thick wood. I sort of felt like I was at a bar in ‘Ye Olden Days’ and should have been yelling for the wench to bring me my grog. It was R’s kind of furniture. The place (aside from the lumberjack decor tables) was defiantly trendy, hipster, Seattle Cafe set in the U District. Students were everywhere with papers

spread all over the place. However there seemed to be a bit of a diverse mix of people there. In one corner sat a women with a pile of books, Banker To The Poor included (a women after my own heart). In another corner two girls worked on something while speaking over their laptops and in the middle of the place sat four police officers.

There is free internet. If you have a Husky card than you can access internet that way or just ask someone the password and log onto the cafe’s account.

The music was a bit loud. From my understanding what is going to be

played is dictated by the barista that is behind the counter and the level of sound as well. It wasn’t overly distracting, but louder than I preferred.

On to the important stuff: the coffee. The latte was nice, not great, but I was happy for it none the less. The scone on the other hand was well, blah. The taste was nice, but all but the middle few bites was dry. It was almost to heavy to eat. However the taste of it was very good.

Overall I really did enjoy Solstice and if I was a UW student I could see myself there quiet a bit.


Cafe Solstice on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

